Still Waters Run Deep

I live on what used to be a major road before another (bigger) road was built around a couple of miles from my house.

I was inspired to write this blog post by the road I live on mainly due to the fact that it was flooded near one end of it this morning.  As I look out of my office window I can see a few cars heading towards where it was flooded (I haven’t seen any cars turning around outside my house though – which is a good sign)..

You have probably heard all the warnings about not driving through flood water because you don’t know how deep it is???

Isn’t it funny how we never seem to be warned about not walking through people’s feelings without first thinking about the consequences?

One unthinking remark could do untold damage both to that person’s feelings and to any relationship you may have with them.

The band 10cc had a brilliant way of remembering to treat people with respect.  My favourite lyrics of the song “Dreadlock Holiday” are – “Don’t you walk through my words.  Gotta show some respect.  Don’t you walk through my words – you ain’t heard me out yet”.

I think the world would be a better place if we really listened to each other and treated each other with the respect we deserve (instead of the respect we sometimes think we deserve).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

