The Real Junkfood Roadshow (Or – Educating People One Delicious Meal At A Time)


Poem by Ken Duddle (One of the “The Real Junkfood Project” Volunteers)

OK – so it wasn’t technically a “Roadshow” as such.  The “Super Saturday” event which usually happens at the West End Centre, Andrewes Street, Leicester, just moved itself to the Riverside Festival on Saturday.

Before I continue I suppose I had better declare an interest in this great bunch of people.  I am one of the Volunteers.  However, you won’t see me serving or cooking at any of their events (even though I helped out on Thursday afternoon).  I am more of the “Behind the scenes” Volunteer – as in – I do the Admin.

The “Pay As You Feel” concept is a very good idea.  You don’t even have to pay in money – you can volunteer your services instead.  This has the effect of allowing everybody to be treated as equals (whether or not they can afford to pay with money).

If you follow me on Twitter or Facebook you will probably recognise the “Menu” board from whenever I am having my Thursday night dinner at the “Pay As You Feel Cafe”.

I must admit that Thursday afternoon was an eyeopening experience for me.  Put it this way – I got a big shock when I saw the food which had been collected from various places.  There was lots of it.

At the Leicester “Pay As You Feel” Cafe they also have a “Food Boutique” where you can pick up some perfectly edible food which has been thrown out by supermarkets, etc, that you can use at home.

The motto of The Real Junkfood Project is “Feed Bellies Not Bins” and – if you could see the amount of food which the Leicester gang collect from various places – you may get some idea of the best way to solve the problems with people going hungry unnecessarily.  Use the food which Supermarkets throw away to feed people who honestly cannot afford the crazy prices you have to pay for thngs like fresh fruit and vegetables.

I am really tempted to suggest that the Police sign up to the Junkfood initiative – and either donate their excess food or serve food which has been prepared by their nearest Junkfood Project in their stations.

Is there any way of the Junkfood Project being incorporated into the Criminal Justice System???  Either as a volunteering opportunity or as a place where people can get a healthy meal without being judged???

What I love most about the Junkfood Project is not the food itself – it is the way of bringing the community together – and helping people to learn about each other.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

