The Under-Used Library Which Nobody Realises Exists

Yesterday  I had a conversation which made me feel like I actually have a useful purpose.

I was in a group of people who – unbeknown to each other – had had roughly the same idea.

The basic idea we all had was we need some kind of Community-run facility in Leicester city centre.  One of us wanted a pop-up craft shop, another one wanted somewhere they could run one of their projects in, two of us agreed that we needed a Community-run Art Gallery.  You could say that we all wanted somewhere people could go for advice, etc.

However, there was one common thread between us.  We all know what it is like to be on the “ignored” side of life – and we finally decided to do something about it.

You may have read about the concept of “Human Library Books” either on here or on my personal blog.  I believe there is a wonderful untapped resource in every place in existence.  That resource is reading this blog post – yes – you!
The “Human Library Books” concept works on the idea that we all have experiences which would be useful to someone else.  Forget about the idea of “non-transferable skills” which theoretically fit one job alone – all skills and knowledge are transferable.  Even the ones which most people would think are of no earthly use to anyone but yourself.

Take me for example.  My CV would tell you that I have 15 years experience of working in an office where I dealt with a wide range of people from a variety countries at all levels.  What it will  not tell you is that my sight problems have given me skills in creativity, have forced me to be adaptable and flexible, have enabled me to think sideways and come up with ideas which other people would never think of, and have left me able to treat most people as I would want to be treated.

I don’t know if my “Community-run” idea will get off the ground but I would love to live in a society where people and their experiences are treated as though they are as valuable as actual books.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Under-Used Library Which Nobody Realises Exists

  1. Paardje says:

    I think this is a wonderful idea. Interested to see how this concept can get off the ground. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

