The Definition Of “Choice” Is Different For Everybody

Before you rush to find your dictionary and look the word up I feel I should clarify what I mean by the definition being different for everybody.

As with all words in the English language the dictionary definition of “Choice” is reasonably universal.  The problem sometimes comes when people try to apply it to their daily lives.

On Wednesday I will be in charge of a Discussion Table at an event in Leicester called “Choice UnLimited” – aimed at the section of the population who usually end up with the least amount of choice – as in Disabled people and their carers.

Theoretically Disabled people have the same amount of choice as everyone else.  In some ways we actually have less whilst having more.

Eh? Explain please?

We have less choice regarding some of the things we might wish to do which the able-bodied population can do without too much problem or planning – but we have more choice as to what we can do when we are prevented from accessing the same choices as everyone else.  We can either stay silent or we can take our custom and the custom of everybody we know from your premises in the event we feel discriminated against.

However, that raises another issue.  What constitutes “discrimination”? And who is responsible for most of it?

To me – discrimination is what happens when I am made to feel uncomfortable in a particular situation.  The people who are responsible for the most discrimination are the ones who are in charge of creating the Laws of our land.

Allow me to attempt to explain.

The “Equality Act” and the “Disability Discrimination Act” are both laws.  However – there are times when they appear to be directly contradicted by other laws – namely “Religious Discrimination”, etc.

If I am faced with anyone dressed head to foot in black I know I am not going to be able to see them properly.  There is one group of humans who see it as their religious duty to make themselves as invisible to me as possible.  This particular group will happily inform me that their mode of dress ensures that men do not objectify them sexually as a result.  What they don’t realise is that I respect their right to wear whatever they want – I just wish they would wear a contrasting colour so I can distinguish them from street furniture, etc.

Who is in the right in that situation???

I would love to live in a society where choice is truly unlimited for everyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

