The Bus Drivers Who Decided To Help A Children’s Hospital Whilst Celebrating The Success Of Their Favourite Football Team

I decided to share something with you that is a little bit different this time – it actually involves a bit of a trip down Memory Lane for me in a strange way.

The first song I was ever recorded singing (on a reel to reel tape recorder owned by my Granddad) was “Hand in hand Kameraden” – also known as the Feyenoord football song.  My Mum was singing it with me.

Another piece of information you will need to know is that I spent a large percentage of the first year of my life being shuttled between King’s Lynn (where I was born) and Great Ormond St Hospital due to a hole in my heart.

So you might understand why I was intrigued when I found out that some bus drivers from RET (the Rotterdam Public Transport organisation) decided to write and release a cover version (a reworking more like) of “Sweet Caroline” – incidentally my middle name – not only to celebrate the success of Feyenoord but to raise money for the Sophia Children’s Hospital in Rotterdam.

There is another slight twist to the story.  As you can imagine I have spent quite a lot of time in Rotterdam over the years – travelling on their Public Transport system.

Now – in the video the drivers are all on what could now be described as a vintage bus being driven around bits of Rotterdam.  The bus is actually in my favourite colour scheme – maroon with cream doors and roof.

It actually got me thinking about the old songs which used to be released by different football teams in the UK – particularly when the teams were either in the FA Cup final or one of the national teams were heading off to foreign climbs for a World Cup.

Wouldn’t it have been good if the teams had donated the proceeds of those songs to worthy charities???  Instead of murdering the songs and keeping the profits for themselves.

Maybe it is just me but I prefer to think there can be a way to link sports teams with the community that doesn’t immediately make me think of violence and disorder.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

