Blind Faith (Or – How Faith Isn’t Only About Religious Beliefs)

I wrote this article for someone else to publish but they didn’t use it – so I decided to share it with you.

When I was asked to write on the subject of “Faith” I had two ideas.  One was an article along the lines of a religious-type piece of writing and the other was about “Blind Faith”.  Literally – Blind Faith.

As I am sure others have submitted writing with a religious twist to it I thought I would tell you about how “Faith” can have a big impact when connected with my eyesight.

I may not look like I should be but I am actually Registered as Partially Sighted.  As well as being severely shortsighted I also have problems with angles, bright lights, and darkness (among other things).  Forget the angles for a minute – the “Blind Faith” comes with the bright lights and the darkness – neither of which are much good if I want to see anything clearly – if at all.

This means I have to have faith in my own abilities to navigate my way around – even when landmarks appear to have completely vanished from view.  Not only that but I have to have faith in the people around me either doing what I think they are going to do or (more usually) that they are not going to do what I think they are going to do.

If you rely on your ears (as I do when it is wall-to-wall sunshine, or dark) you very quickly learn that some car engines have developed rather interesting noises – kind of like a bass line and a drumbeat with additional “musical” accompaniment.  This is where my “Blind Faith” really comes in handy.  As the speed of the music doesn’t change with the speed of the car it is being played in I have no clue as to whether or not I am likely to get run over by an oncoming “Mobile Disco”.

Of course – there are many other occasions where Faith and my sight are connected.  Can I be certain that I am approaching a tree or a human if I am out and about when it is getting dark???  Is that vehicle which is approaching the bus stop where I am standing a bus or (as actually happened once) a Tesco delivery van???

So – you see – Faith plays two roles in my life.  The first being connected with my religious beliefs and the second being connected with how I attempt to avoid injury to myself and other people when out and about.

“Faith” is something you need in both yourself and other people all through your life.  Without Faith you really cannot claim to live.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

